Please note! Course description is confirmed for two academic years (1.8.2018-31.7.2020), which means that in general, e.g. Learning outcomes, assessment methods and key content stays unchanged. However, via course syllabus, it is possible to specify or change the course execution in each realization of the course, such as how the contact sessions are organized, assessment methods weighted or materials used.


Credits: 1

Schedule: 07.09.2020 - 24.05.2021

Teacher in charge (valid 01.08.2020-31.07.2022): Tapio Ala-Nissilä, Mikko Alava, Laurent Chone, Christian Flindt, Adam Foster, Mathias Groth, Pertti Hakonen, Eero Hirvijoki, Olli Ikkala, Matti Kaivola, Esko Kauppinen, Taina Kurki-Suonio, Peter Liljeroth, Peter Lund, Jukka Pekola, Robin Ras, Patrick Rinke, Janne Ruokolainen, Mika Sillanpää, Jaakko Timonen, Filip Tuomisto, Päivi Törmä, Sebastiaan van Dijken

Teacher in charge (applies in this implementation): Taina Kurki-Suonio

Contact information for the course (applies in this implementation):

CEFR level (applies in this implementation):

Language of instruction and studies (valid 01.08.2020-31.07.2022):

Teaching language: English

Languages of study attainment: English


  • Valid 01.08.2020-31.07.2022:

    The course is held by the staff or by visiting scientists. The topics of the course change every year.

    Advanced Plasma Physics with Computational Emphasis will be lectured in the spring 2021 with min. 4 participants. Otherwise the course can be carried out as supervised individual study. Extent 5 ECTS. Teacher in charge: Taina Kurki-Suonio.


Substitutes for Courses
  • Valid 01.08.2020-31.07.2022:

    PHYS-E0566 Advanced course in plasma physics with computational emphasis



Registration and further information