Osion kuvaus

  • Fusion Energy Technology aims to teach the basic principles and underlying physics of producing energy from fusion of hydrogen. The course consists of three principal components: the first section gives an overview of the physical conditions for fusion and presents the main fusion reactor concepts. The second part deals with the technical characteristics of a fusion reactor, in particular, with material issues, vacuum technology, heat transfer and fuel technology. The third section covers the potential of fusion power plant features, security, and the future of fusion generated electricity. 

    The course includes lectures, exercises, and an exam. Upon completion, graduates will have a basic understanding of what fusion is, an overview of major fusion research topics and challenges in constructing a fusion power plant, and how the fusion-fired power plant will potentially work.

    The grade for the course will be determined on the scale 0-5 based on three factors:

    • 50% for attending the exercise classes and getting the exercises done 
    • 25% for attending lectures and responded to the quiz questions
    • 25% for the (final) exams

    The final exam can be either oral or written exam depending on the number of students attending the course.

    Generally, the course schedule will be according to the "Upcoming events" on the right.

    Room Y309a is booked for the lectures and Y309b for the exercise classes. The general COVID-19 rules and restrictions within Aalto University are applied if needed.

    Tentative schedule of the course (to be confirmed):

    Week Jan 9-13, 2023: Fusion principles. Lecture (Dr. Timo Kiviniemi) Monday, Jan 9, 2023, 12am-2pm,  exercise session (MSc Roni Mäenpää) Wednesday, Jan 11, 2023, 10am - 12pm

    Week Jan 16-20, 2023: Fusion concepts. Lecture (Dr. Timo Kiviniemi) Monday, Jan 16, 2023, 12am-2pm, exercise session (MSc Roni Mäenpää) Wednesday, Jan 18, 2023, 10am - 12pm

    Week Jan 23-27, 2023: Tokamaks 1. Lecture (Dr. Timo Kiviniemi) Monday, Jan 23, 2023, 12am-2pm, exercise session (MSc Roni Mäenpää) Wednesday, Jan 25, 2023, 10am - 12pm

    Week Jan 30 - Feb 3, 2023: Tokamaks 2. Lecture (Dr. Timo Kiviniemi) Monday, Jan 30, 2023, 12am-2pm, exercise session (MSc Roni Mäenpää) Wednesday, Feb 1, 2023, 10am - 12pm

    Week Feb 6-10, 2023: Stellarators. Lecture (Dr. Timo Kiviniemi) Monday Feb 6, 2023, 12am-2pm, exercise session (MSc Roni Mäenpää) on Wednesday, Feb 8, 2023, 10am - 12pm

    Week Feb 13-17, 2023: Inertial confinement fusion. Lecture (Dr. Timo Kiviniemi) Monday, Feb 13, 2023,12am-2pm exercise session (MSc Roni Mäenpää) on Wednesday, Feb 15, 2023, 10am - 12pm

    Week Feb 20-24, 2023: Exam week - no lectures or exercises

    Week Feb 27 - Mar 3, 2023: ITER. Lecture (Prof. Mathias Groth) Monday, Feb 27, 2023, 12am-2pm, exercise session (MSc Roni Mäenpää) Wednesday, Mar 1, 2023, 10am - 12pm

    Week Mar 6-10, 2023: Plasma diagnostics. Lecture (Prof. Mathias Groth) Monday, Mar 6, 2023, 12am-2pm, exercise session (MSc Roni Mäenpää) Wednesday, Mar 8, 2023, 10am - 12pm

    Week Mar 13-17, 2023: Plasma heating. Lecture (Dr. Ray Chandra) Monday, Mar 13, 2023, 12am-2pm, exercise session (MSc Roni Mäenpää) Wednesday, Mar 15, 2023, 10am - 12pm

    Week Mar 20-24, 2023: Scrape-off layer and plasma-wall interaction. Lecture (Dr. Ray Chandra) Monday, Mar 20, 2023, 12am-2pm, exercise session (MSc Roni Mäenpää) Wednesday, Mar 22, 2023, 10am - 12pm

    Week Mar 27-31, 2023: Tritium cycle. Lecture (Dr. Ray Chandra) Monday, Mar 27, 2023, 12am-2pm, exercise session (MSc Roni Mäenpää) Wednesday, Mar 29, 2023, 10am - 12pm

    Week Apr 3-7, 2023: Fusion energy as part of the future energy mix. Lecture (Dr. Ray Chandra) Monday, Apr 3, 2023, 12am-2pm, exercise session (MSc Roni Mäenpää) Wednesday, Apr 5, 2023, 10am - 12pm

    Week Apr 10-14, 2023: exercise session (MSc Roni Mäenpää) Wednesday, Apr 12, 2023, 10am - 12pm